Election Eve: Feed the Peace

Election Eve. I think just about everyone is feeling the weight and heaviness of this political year. It feels kind of like we’ve been witnessing an ongoing boxing match for months and months that will finally, thank God, be over tomorrow. But, come tomorrow, about half of us in our country, maybe even the world, will be happy with the winner of this fight-–uh, election, and the other half won’t. The collective sense of feeling fed up and wiped out is palpable; so is the pervasive overtone of fear and anxiety.

When I cast my vote last Wednesday, I felt a very surprising and interesting feeling of lightness. A freedom. Not the type of freedom that comes from knowing I live in a democracy and that I was exercising my right to vote, though I was aware of that, but rather a freedom from being attached to a particular outcome. When I pressed the “cast ballot” button, put on my “I voted” sticker, and happily glided out of the fairly empty room, I washed my hands of this whole election. I’ve surrendered myself to the results, come what may. And the big insight that followed was this: Whoever wins this thing, be it Trump or Clinton, it will all be okay. Our country is not going to go to hell in a hand-basket, regardless of what the talking heads shouting at each on cable news are saying and despite the posts on Facebook from “news” sources I’ve never heard of are predicting will happen. Of course, I could be wrong, but the sane, rational, grounded, spiritually connected part of myself feels strongly that everything will work out. We will come together.

I’ve got faith in us as Americans, as humans living on our beautiful planet Earth. Yes, the squeaky wheels of the haters on both sides have been getting the grease of sound bites lately, but most of us in this country and in this world are not these squeaky wheels. Most of us are good, honest people who, fundamentally, want the same things: to live, love, laugh, feel free, and be at peace. I think when we take off the blue or red colored glasses that we’ve been viewing this election through, we will see that we have more commonalities which unite us, rather than more differences which divides us.

And, as yogis, I think it’s important for us to come together, as well, especially on a night such as tonight and in the days to follow. We all have our differences in the microcosm of the yoga community, to be sure. However, just as in the larger macrocosmic view, that which unites us is so much stronger than that which divides us. More than ever before, I feel that those of us who know how to get into our center point – and so many of us are highly skilled in doing this – need to do whatever we can to get there and hold this space for one another. Let’s use our strong visionary capabilities to visualize everything working out. We know how to do this. We can do this for ourselves and for the country and the whole world.

Tonight (as well as tomorrow and in the coming days), I invite us to turn off the TV for a few minutes. Put the phone down. Let’s settle ourselves into wherever we are and take some deep breaths together. In each of our mind’s eye, visualize things working out for the greater good. What does that look like? Feel it. Breathe it in. Breathe it out. Visualize each other rising up and embodying understanding; see ourselves listening to each other with compassion, forgiveness, and open hands reaching toward one another in love, regardless of what happens on Tuesday.

It only takes a few minutes to do this, but the few minutes that each of us brings to the collective consciousness can help, soothe, and heal the massive fear and anxiety on the national and global scale. It’s that powerful.

Yes, vote, if you haven’t. Do your civic duty and let your voice be counted. But let’s stay strong and not feed into the fear. Let’s feed the peace. Let’s feed into the faith in each other and in Spirit, who has us all safely held in the palm of His hand. Or Her hand.

unity-750x400.jpg

Leave a Reply

