The Blessing Box

I’m a member of a Baptist, African-American, gospel church. It’s awesome. I’m not
Baptist. I’m a confirmed Episicopalian, Yogi, spiritual seeker, lover of experiencing God in as many ways as I can through various traditions and non-traditions. I’m also not African-American, either. Most Sundays, I’m the only white person there. Definitely the only redhead. But, I’ve never felt more at home, more welcome, more ME at any church anywhere. Every Sunday I’m washed with the experience of what is essentially Bhakti Yoga – feeling my oneness with God through the pathway of the heart and the emotions. Our collective church experience is always spontaneous and organic, which feeds my soul to the brim and overflowing. And every Sunday, I’m blown away by the Pastor’s sermons that always, every single time, completely correlate to what I’m working with in my practice of living the Yoga.

About a year ago, he introduced the idea of a Blessing Box. The idea is to get a box of some sort and write down all the good things that happen to you every day; blessings that come your way that you didn’t create. A grace evidence box, of sorts. Put a date on it, write down the blessing, and keep it in the box.

The Blessing Box

I thought this would be a great addition to my life. So, I decided to use this cool wooden box I’d bought years ago for our ten jillion remote controls. We never used it as such and it was collecting dust on my shelf. Inside I placed strips of cut up paper and a pen. My first entry was January 2014: Dillon made it safely back to the USA! My son had returned safe and sound from a study abroad semester in Sweden. I had been a worried mom for months and I was so grateful and incredibly relieved he was back in the states. My intended practice had begun: Write a slip of paper every day.

Now, this may not seem like such a huge practice but, for me, looking for the good things that happen in my life is almost a monumental practice. I grew up in a way that taught me to always look for the negative, for things that are going wrong, as a way to stay safe and protect myself. Of course, one always finds what one looks for, as they say. Seek and ye shall find. If I constantly look for what’s wrong, well, then what’s wrong is all that I will find. Here is something very tangible and easy that I can do that will actually help me look for, acknowledge, and record the great things that are happening all around me. And, when I flip back to my “nothing good every happens to me” mode, I can open this box and take out all the hard evidence of the contrary. Blessings are happening to me every single day, in so many ways. I know I’m not alone. If they’re happening to me, they are certainly happening to you, as well! The question is what are we looking to find?

What a blessing this Blessing Box has been to me. I’m writing about it now – a whole year later – because I had forgotten about the box. Somehow, I had reverted the Blessing Box back to its previous job: collecting dust on the shelf. I flipped back into the old mode and got spiritually lazy over sitting down and taking a couple of seconds to write down something good that happened to me. So, last night, I took the box down off the shelf and moved it into my Yoga room, right by my meditation altar, where I’ll be sure to see it every day. I opened it up and read all the evidence from 2015. Wow. I had, of course, forgotten about almost all of it. But here was my proof. I’m hereby recommitting myself to this practice of looking for the good, the great, the blessings. The more I seek, the more I will find. And the more I find, the more blessed I feel. The more blessed I feel, the less depressed and dis-spirited I feel. I feel more abundance, more joy, and much more excited and grateful be on this life journey. It all comes down to what I choose to look for. Today I’m choosing to count my blessings.

 

7 thoughts on “The Blessing Box

  1. Thanks, Carie for the reminder. I have a gratitude journal that has been “collecting dust” for much too long. Thanks for the inspiration to dust it off and put it to good use.

    • Hi Mary! Something feels different to me about this than a gratitude journal. I had noticed that my entries in a gratitude journal had become things like, “I’m grateful for the blue sky” or “I’m grateful for the green I see everywhere in the trees,” for example. We had an awesome discussion about it in class this morning and one student said something like, “Those entries [like the ones I mentioned there] seem like something that everyone would be grateful for, whereas the blessing box are things that are personal and happen directly to you.” Thanks, I’m so happy you are feeling inspired!

Leave a Reply

